Vestrymen George Washington, George Mason and George William Fairfax supervised the construction of the church, which was completed in 1774, just before the outbreak of the Revolutionary War. Both before and after the war, Washington was a faithful attendant at Pohick. The outbreak of the Civil War brought devastation when occupying Union forces stripped the building's interior for souvenirs of "Washington's Church" and used its worship space as a stable. Soldiers scrawled their names on the inside walls, carved graffiti onto the doorposts, and pockmarked the exterior with bullet holes. The interior damage can be seen from an iconic 1862 Mathew Brady photo, while the outside markings can still be viewed today.